Is God a Giant?

20140123-171409.jpg

What does God look like?
Is God a giant?
Does heaven have bathrooms?
Will we look the same in heaven?
Can God hear me?
I want to die so I can see Him!

These were some of the questions my oldest daughter began to ask by the time she was 3. A deep thinker, her questions often challenged me and her resolve to be with God right now was uncomfortable at first. There were several times she would say ,”I wish I could die so I could see Jesus.” Her faith so strong I found myself scrambling for the best words. I knew she wasn’t suicidal, that at such a young age she didn’t have a plan to die. Her desire to see The Lord was just so strong.

And as I said the words that I hoped would help her to understand that she wanted to be here on earth, I prayed I wasn’t stifling that childlike faith. And I desired to be like her. I finally understood what Christ meant when he said, “Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” (Mark 10:15 NIV)

Now 6, she has moved away from talking about death, but her faith remains so strong. Lately she says with an amazing amount of awe and wonder in her voice, “God is so AMAZING, momma! He can do ANYTHING!”

I know she is right, but often I loose the twinkle in my eye, the excitement over the whole thing. Until I pay attention. Until I realize the places and circumstances God has his hand in. Until I let go of my own perceived capabilities. Until I open my ears and my heart to the words of a child. My child, a true gift from a God who loves to reveal Himself in the little things.

I’d love to hear your stories! Have your children ever challenged you in your faith? How has God revealed Himself to you?

2 comments

  1. Once Emily was asking about heaven and Jonathan pointed up and said heaven was up there. Emily replied, “Where Hannah lives?” The Montenegro’s live in the apartment above us. I thought it was too cute. She’s said alot of good ones but I can’t remember them all now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

