I want to do it by myself

20140302-154300.jpg

“I want to do it by myself.” These are words that are hear in my house several times a day as my three year old desires to be more independent. From choosing what to wear to what story to read at bedtime, allowing my daughter to make choices saves us from extra tantrums thrown during the day. I have learned to allow her to try to do things on her own even if I know she is not capable of doing it. Then I stand by and let her know I am still there to help her if she needs. This also allows her to learn how to do things on her own. If I always did everything for her she would never learn to grow up and be independent making right choices on her own.

Similarly, God has created us to be people who make our own choices. He could have created us all to be like robots, obeying His commands and loving Him. But He wanted us to choose to believe in Him and follow Him. God wants us to choose to do the right thing in all the circumstances we find ourselves in. Even though we sometimes make mistakes and wrong choices, God wants us to learn for ourselves. But He is always standing by to help us if we need it.

​Just like we make sacrifices for our children, Jesus paid the ultimate sacrifice so that we might spend eternity with Him. In Revelation 3:20, Jesus says, “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.” He won’t make the choice for us.

Leave a Reply

