Never Stop Loving: a poem for my birth mom

20140402-111554.jpg

You gave me away
Like a gift on Christmas Day
Did you think it was the only way?

Did you ever stop loving? 

Secrets locked up
Did I see you close up
Did you think you weren’t enough? 

Did you ever stop loving?

Birthdays have passed
Marriage vows cast
Will I meet you at last? 

Did you ever stop loving? 

I’ve never been mad
Often I was sad 
Will finding me make you glad? 

Did you ever stop loving? 

Whatever the outcome 
No matter what we become 
The truth I can no longer run from 

Never stop loving

Leave a Reply

